Menu Close

About us

The Langside and District Churches Badminton League – also known as the Langside League – is a competitive badminton league located across Glasgow’s south side, South Lanarkshire and East Renfrewshire. You can read more about the history of the league here.

Eight clubs currently make up the Langside League, who compete in Mixed Doubles, Women’s Doubles and Men’s Doubles. They are:

Most of our clubs also offer social club nights for members and would welcome you to join. You can find out contact details and further information on the ‘Clubs’ page.

We also welcome new clubs in the south side of Glasgow, East Renfrewshire and South Lanarkshire areas to join the league. Get in touch to have a chat about registering your club with the league.

We also have a competitive club, made up of players across all eight Langside clubs, that participates in the Glasgow & District Churches Badminton League in Mixed and Doubles matches. We also enter this club in to team tournaments, offering the more advanced club players in the league the opportunity to play in tournaments and competitive leagues in the west of Scotland and beyond.

Our people

League ConvenorClaire Rae
TreasurerGraeme McDonald
Match and Tournament ConvenorKeegan Friel
Social ConvenorStephen Hendry
Club captainsNeil Armstrong (Shawlands Trinity – Men)
Rachel Denholm (Orchardhill – Mixed B)
Graham Elliott (Newlands South – Mixed)
David Evans (Netherlee – Mixed)
Alex Fletcher (Orchardhill – Women)
Kirsty Flockhart (Orchardhill – Mixed A)
Andrew Grant (Newlands South – Men)
Stephen Hendry (Eaglesham – Mixed and Men’s)
Catherine Kerrins (Newton Mearns – Women)
Ally Kirkwood (Greenbank – Men)
Moira Liddell (Shawlands/Newlands – Women)
David Mair (Newton Mearns – Mixed)
Graeme McDonald (Old Parish – Men)
Claire Rae (Old Parish – Mixed)
Emma Sherry (Shawlands Trinity – Mixed)

Find out how to get in touch with us on the ‘Contact us’ page.